HFF23 Awards Night

Horsham Film Festival is over for another year – and what a year the event had this year!

Now in it’s fifth year, Horsham Film Festival continues to grow, supporting and championing filmmakers experienced and those just starting out, entertaining bigger audiences, developing bonds with more local businesses and celebrating film in general!

Watch the video of the night, presented by Esme Todd…

We received more entries than any year before – a total of almost 200 films which is fantastic to see.

This year’s winning films covered drama, comedy, animation and documentary again and were made by a broad range of filmmakers.

We partnered with the Everyman Cinema in Horsham again to run our screenings and give the Festival a real event feel by it taking place at a beautiful, upmarket cinema.

We held three screenings this year, showcasing all the shortlisted films and culminated the event with an Awards Night which featured all winning films played in full in front of a full house at the Everyman Cinema.

Our judging panel this year included Geoff Cockwill from Silvertip Films, Pete Levy – producer on Doctor Who and Casualty and Rebecca Moon and Stuart Andrews from the media and film department at Collyers College in Horsham. Their presence helped us grow our Student category – formerly known as the Under 18 age category – which is now open to students of any age.

The Awards Night was hosted by Emily Beach for the second year in a row, bringing her bubbly charm and enthusiasm to the show.

As with previous years, we were sponsored by a number of local and national businesses whose support brought the event to life. Thanks to…

Breathe HR, Woodstock IT, Silverback Studios, Major Mind Games, T21 Group, exilHRate, BW Cars, Seofon Business Solutions

Our winning films were…

BEST DRAMA – “My Baby Cries” Directed by Faith Elizabeth

BEST ANIMATION – “How To Listen” Directed by Jason Ramasami

BEST COMEDY – “PIN” Directed by Alex Goddard

BEST DOCUMENTARY – “We Dance For Life” Directed by Ian Sciacaluga

YOUR DISTRICT – “Buchan: A Wildlife Documentary” Directed by Amy King

STUDENT BEST DRAMA – “Good Friday” Directed by Clea Reeder

STUDENT BEST ANIMATION – “Squabble” Directed by Christopher Nguyen

STUDENT BEST COMEDY – “Phantom Education” Directed by Sparks Arts, Dorking

STUDENT BEST DOCUMENTARY – “Cat Had His Thumb” Directed by Hamish Cairncrosss

STUDENT YOUR DISTRICT – “Injustice” Directed by Oliver Wibrew

Judge Pete Levy, producer on Doctor Who and Casualty said of the event:

“The evening was a huge success. These events are the lifeblood of our industry. From emerging talent to those a little more established need platforms such as film festivals to help tell their stories and raise their profiles. It was a joy celebrating the winners as well as watching the quality of entrants.”

Geoff Cockwill from Silvertip Films, the organisers of the event, said:  

“This year’s Horsham Film Festival was our best yet – the quality of the films was higher than ever before, the breadth of topics covered was wider than ever before, the filmmakers themselves were more diverse than ever before and our audience was entertained like never before as well. I’m so happy to put this event on and encourage up and coming filmmakers, give more established ones a boost and develop relationships with, and for, businesses in our area.” 

Rebecca Moon from Collyers College said: 

So honoured to have partaken in such a fantastic film festival. The entries for 2023 were outstanding and I’m sure we will see some of these budding film producers on the red carpets of the future! Keep shooting everyone roll on film festival 2024!”

Here’s a playlist of interview videos from the event…

Take a look at some photos from the night below, taken by Chrissie Brooks Photography.

Show host Emily Beach

Judge Pete Levy

Judge Geoff Cockwill

Judge Rebecca Moon 

Student Your District Winners Oliver Wibrew and Jake Thorn

READ: SussexWorld article on winner Oliver Wibrew

Posted in Blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *